The United Kingdom driving test is a test of competence that UK residents take in order to obtain a full Great Britain or Northern Ireland driving licence or to add additional full entitlements to an existing one.


There are two parts to becoming a Safe Driver, these are:

The Theory Test

The theory test is broken into two parts, Part 1. Multiple Choice Questions & Part 2 Hazard perception Video Clips.

Pt 1. a series of 50 multiple choice questions based on the Highway Code booklet, Know your Traffic Signs and Driving The Essential Skills (available here).

The hazard perception test involves watching a series of video clips on a computer and clicking the mouse when you detect a potentially hazardous situation.


The Driving Test

The practical driving test is the most nerve wracking of the m all. You will be required to show a good overall standard of driving and perform some of the standard driving manoeuvres that you have practiced during your driving lessons.

To pass the U.K. Driving Test you must drive without:


Getting one serious or dangerous fault (Major) 

Getting no more than 15 driving faults (Minor)


Pass Plus is the Government road safety initiative Pass Plus is a scheme designed to increase the confidence and safety of newly qualified drivers.  


you've actually

 gone and passed